top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureMimi

Grasping onto the good in 2020

I'm sick of articles starting with words like, "unprecedented" and "the new normal". I'm tired of the 2020 jargon.


You all know how this year went so I won't belabour the point; long story short, I am tired of the same day-to-day routine.


So much so, I sometimes overwhelm myself with thoughts of: "I should find a hobby like the rest of the world", "Should I know how to do a hand stand?", "Is sour dough levain THAT hard to make?"


I realize I need more awareness of simple pleasures in front of me.


So as a reminder to myself, here is a collection of things I love in my 500-square-foot apartment and beyond. I hope you can find your own simple pleasures too.


Coffee. Good coffee.




Sunshine in my apartment.



Being the dog paparazzi.




Parks. Parks brought a lot of joy this summer.




Sunsets outside my window, silhouetted by high rises that I normally hate looking at.




It's hard to try and find the good in 2020. I constantly (maybe too often) put pressure on myself to "enjoy the moment" or "be thankful". But I find it hard to be thankful for my 100th session of Yoga With Adrienne or another leftover meal.


But the one thing I am thankful for in 2020, is just enjoying tiny little wins like sunshine, snack breaks, clean leggings from the dryer, or dance parties in my bedroom.


I think pre-2020 I was thankful for the little things, but I've made a routine/habit of grasping the good in an ongoing mundane agenda. That's something I hope to carry through into 2021 COVID or not.


Stay positive friends.


-M





19 views0 comments
bottom of page