top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureMimi

YYZ to YYC STATUS: ARRIVED


Have you ever fallen asleep then wake up several hours later feeling like only several minutes have passed? That's what the last few days have been for me. I fell asleep in Toronto and I woke up in a small town in British Columbia. In 72 hours I attended a wedding, celebrated Mother's day, got on a plane, and started a news job.


Big transitions always feel surreal to me when I think about all the pre-planning that went into getting to this point. I think of all the reservations I had about making this decision: leaving friends, leaving family, and leaving my established home in Toronto. But now that I'm here I'm finally realizing it's all going to amount to a great summer.

I'm in a town called Invermere. It's in a valley stationed between the Rockie and Purcell Mountain Ranges. It sits on Lake Windermere where tourists flock from Calgary and all over during the summer. The town is only 5000 people and they just got one more. I moved out here specifically because I was born in the west and have wanted to gallivant out here for a while now. So I applied to jobs and managed to score one working with the town's municipality office.

All the people at work are unbelievably welcoming which has made the transition even easier. Maybe it's small town mentality or the fresh, mountain air they breathe, but whatever it is, they're extremely kind. Like any job on the first day, of course training is inevitable. It's long, it's boring, but the difference with this job is that the view out my window is quite a sight for sore eyes.

Not only that but I actually look forward to my 25 minute walk home everyday. Yesterday I was walking home in 25 degree weather, a dramatic change from the chilling Toronto temps. The whole town is filled with lilac trees that give off such a sweet smell whenever the breeze picks up. You almost always face the mountains; Being in a valley, no matter which direction you face, you normally catch a glimpse of them. And now that the trees on the mountains are finally budding, there are vibrant green patches all along the mountainsides.



Yesterday I went for my first walk with the dog, Luca, a rambunctious, always playful, border collie. I discovered that I am literally a two minute walk to the beach/lake. Luca went for a long 20 minute swim happily chasing sinking rocks that I would throw. And the sun was extremely warm as we walked along the train tracks that run parallel to Lake Windermere.


The house where I am staying with a family friend (Peter) is wonderful. The windows are huge and light always streams in during the day. I have my own room that walks out to the deck where potted tomatoes and pansies grow. Right outside my door is a porch swing which is always fun to go on even at 20 years old. Also on the wrap around porch sits a Jacuzzi that I have yet to indulge in.


Peter has two horses, Cheemo and Spitfire. They are always grazing and never social unless food beckons. And so...I am putting “riding a horse” on my summer bucket list, and with Peter’s regular Sunday ride, I am thinking I will get that crossed off sooner than expected.

I hope to cross more off my bucket list on weekends whether that’s a swim at the beach, a hike up Mt. Swansee or a bike ride from Banff to Canmore (as planned for this weekend). Who knows what else I cross off the list, but if anyone knows of anything specifically, please share! But now with a new home and a new job, in a new town I feel extremely content knowing the summer will be a success.

Keep trying new things friends!

-Mimi

2 views0 comments
bottom of page