top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureMimi

Three new therapeutic things to try this summer


I'm the happiest when I am singing, drawing or moving. I do these things if I ever feel like I need a little bit of TLC. They are easy little habits to practice and learn and I have found myself doing them more often. And it's resulted in positive shifts in my mood, making me genuinely happier. Whether I do it for 5 minutes or an hour, that's time that I get to disconnect from everything else. So the challenge for you is to start doing one of them by the end of this summer!

1. Learn how to play an instrument


Last summer I picked up the ukulele. Since then I've become practiced enough to strum tunes and sing at my leisure. My favourite afternoons involve sitting on the deck in the sun, forcing the dog to be my sole audience member. As a new goal I want to pick up the guitar to expand my repertoire. Learning a new instrument lets you fill time, keep your mind active, and it can be a great way to become social if you decide to join group lessons. But besides all of that, playing an instrument can boost your mental health too.

An article from TIME magazine, Singing Changes Your Brain, reveals how music/singing relieves anxiety, increases oxytocin levels, and improves your mood. Obviously, not all of us feel confident to sing; but learning how to play an instrument is the first gateway to starting! So start playing and get happy!

2. Get artsy


I've been painting, drawing, and doodling a lot this summer (more than usual). A lot of people think that if they can't draw, it means that they shouldn't and I think that's a load of you know what. If you're nervous to start, just start with abstract. It's a method that let's you make art look as weird as possible and it can still be beautiful. For example: just splatter paint over a white surface-- and voila, you're practically Jackson Pollock.

But don't focus on how good it looks, focus on lines, colours, and patterns and just get lost in them.

If you need help to spark some creativity, look stuff up online. Pull ideas from pictures and other people's work to get a good foundation on what you want to draw. Art doesn't have to be fancy or expensive either. In fact the dollar store is a great starting point: even some of the cheapest art supplies prove to be the best. Just start: draw, sketch, paint, paper mache or even collage. And if that doesn't work, just get an adult colouring book and go wild!

3. Go for walks


I moved to a new home this summer where I have adopted the dog as my own (even though I have to part with him at the end of August). Every other day I take the dog for a walk and it's amazing how even the simplest of exercise clears your mind and puts you at ease. Walks are great for the fact that it's free, needs no equipment, and you can start outside your front door.

But when I say walks, I mean ones that last 20 minutes, where there is not end destination and no time limit. The idea of these walks are to unwind. Walks (although seemingly minimal in the world of exercise) can be extremely beneficial for your physical health. In fact speed walking has exhibited itself to be just as beneficial as running.***

Do it alone, do it with friends, go to adventurous places and just start walking. Like Forrest Gump said, "And one day I just felt like running". So channel you're inner Forrest Gump and just start walking!

***In a new study published in Arteriosclerosis, Thrombosis, and Vascular Biology, regular walkers turned out to be healthier than their running counterparts. Risk for hypertension, high cholesterol, diabetes, and heart disease all dropped more significantly among walkers, compared with runners--Prevention.com/fitness

Get happier and healthier and do it in summer cause we all know once school starts again life gets busy!

Stay adventurous friends,

Mimi

7 views0 comments
bottom of page