top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureMimi

The stages of conquering fear


If you weren’t afraid, what would be the first thing you conquer?

This weekend I climbed a mountain. I didn’t just hike or walk up the mountain. No! I climbed it. The climb is deemed “easy” on a variety of hiking forums (which I now know is a false review of the difficulty rating). As unsettling as the climb was on the way up, it proved itself to be a great achievement. I made it to the top by asking myself, “What are you really afraid of?” The thought process went a little like this.

1. The HOLY S**T Stage

The Holy S**t stage is the highest level of doubt: like doubting my lungs and their ability to take in any more oxygen. Or doubting I would make it up without breaking a leg. I squashed my doubt by calming myself down. I would sing a song, focus on breathing or start reciting a mantra: my legs are strong, my lungs are full and my mind is clear. Before I knew it, my body took on a healthy breathing rhythm and a healthy mindset. So even if you don’t feel capable right away, think calming thoughts and squash your doubt and you won't being saying, "Holy s**t!" the rest of the way.

2. The Regret Stage: I should have stuck with watching Netflix


The regret stage: the midway point where you don’t want to turn back for fear of failure, but you also don’t want to go any farther because it seems like the top is unreachable. The regret stage is a compilation of negative thoughts that emerge from the crevices of your brain saying “What the hell were you thinking !?”

This stage was easily conquered [for me] by taking inventory of the pros and cons. CON: I MIGHT DIE. PRO: You’re getting fit in one of the most beautiful places possible. PRO: You’re with good company. PRO: You have a peanut butter sandwich to devour at the top.

The regret stage happens a lot: I asked that girl out and she hasn’t responded…. I didn’t study for my test and now I am going to fail. Squash your regret. Just rationalize with realistic solutions and look for the positive...or just think of food for motivation.

3. The “I got this” Stage


The “I got this stage” is where the fear slowly dissipates as you start to see the end goal. (For me it was seeing the top of the mountain and little white dots as we elevated 430 metres higher). As I saw the top the motivation kicked in.

Similar with any fear, conquering the anxious preliminary stages will eventually see you through to the “I got this stage”. And it’s extremely rewarding. Whether it’s finishing that last college exam or telling someone what's been on your mind lately, the “I got this” stage is a courageous leap of faith that takes you to the end.

4. The Reward Stage


This stage is where you see the result of conquering your fear. For me it was overlooking a deep, turquoise, blue lake and the mountain ranges below. This is the time for you to reap your rewards and pat yourself on the back. Whether you aced the test, scored a date, or climbed a freaking mountain, the reward stage is the best part of doing something scary.

So yes, doing something scary sucks at times. But stepping out of your comfort zone will reaffirm your ability to do great things. Because we all have it in us, it's a matter of asking ourselves, “What am I really afraid of?”

Stay brave friends!

Mimi


13 views0 comments
bottom of page