top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureMimi

Happy Thanksgiving: A 2017 new year's reflection


I was on the phone with my cousin today and with new year's eve tomorrow we reflected on several things:

What were this year's top three highlights for you?

What is one word to sum up your year?

What are your 2018 goals (big or small)?

And I thought it was really cool. All the different ways we look at the new year as a fresh start, a closing, a goodbye or a challenge to fufill our resolutions for a better year.

As we approach the idea, of a “new beginning,” it brings on a lot of emotions: accomplishment, gratitude, regret, happiness, excitement (the list goes on).

I've titled this entry "Thanksgiving" because even if it's not October and without turkey in sight, I find it's the best time to be thankful. For some, the new year marks the redemption at a fresh start. For others, like myself, it's the time to reflect on how AWESOME this year was, (despite all the turmoil politics and world affairs brought on). So here is my reflection and Thanksgiving for 2017.

 

I think 2017 was so successful because of three things:

Trying new things out of my comfort zone.

Learning about myself and what I want to keep and what I want to change in how I conduct myself.

Allowing to let things happen as they may.

With the combination of new career goals, travelling abroad for the first time, post-secondary graduation, and growing my friendships more and worrying less about romance allowed me to learn a lot and be more thankful for what I have.

In summation: these things diminished the worry about what other people think, to buy less, wear less makeup, do things that make me happy. Just being mindful and present and being grateful for the things I already own, the experiences I am allowed to have because of my socio-economic status, the friendships that bring me a lot of joy, the people I met this year across the world, and experiencing the kindness of others.

This year was also one of many firsts:

First music festival: WAYHOME and Lollapalooza Chicago


First time travel destinations: England, Scotland, Chicago, Argentina, Chile

First graduation from post secondary (maybe not my last)


Leaving my first home


Man, if 2018 is as good as 2017 then I can’t f***ing wait.

So here are my answers to the three questions. I invite you to ask yourself the same and be thankful we made it another year, not matter how awful, beautiful, exciting, or wonky it may (or may not) have been for each individual.

Happy New Year everyone! May it be an epic one.

 

What were this year's top three highlights of the year?

Travel, travel, travel. I learned more about myself and the way the world works traveling more than any other experience;

Learning to be gentle with myself, and being comfortable to be myself with or without a romantic relationship;

Everything will work out. It literally always does. Getting there sometimes sucks, but there isn’t a day where things haven’t panned out the way they needed to.

What I one word to sum up the year?

Fufilled

What are your goals for 2018?

Drink water, floss, and journal/write more;

Find a dream job;

Take Spanish lessons.


24 views0 comments
bottom of page